In the IPL 2019 final, Mumbai Indians (MI) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) played at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium (Hyderabad). It was a delightful cricket match to watch. At the start of the game, both the teams were looking to lift the Indian Premier League trophy for the record fourth time. (Check: IPL Live Streaming.)

But, Mumbai Indians won the 12th season of the famous and most-watched cricket tournament. MI won by 1 run as they a decent total of 149 runs in 20 overs and lost 8 wickets. In response, Chennai Super Kings were able to score only 148 runs in 20 overs and losing 7 wickets in the run.

Along with the title, Mumbai team received a cash prize worth Rs 20 crores, and not to mention, along with the title. As per the norm, 50% of the prize money will go the franchise, while the rest will be distributed among the players. Chennai, the runner-up, didn’t go empty handed. Super Kings received a total of Rs 12.5 crores as the cash prize, and a few mementos.

IPL 2019 Winner, Trophy, Prize Money
IPL 2019 Winner, Trophy, Prize Money

Speaking of the individual prizes, there are prizes to be distributed for personal achievements for fielding, bowling, batting, and overall impact by players throughout the course of the tournament.

The Emerging Player Award is for a player who is born after 1st April 1993, has played less than or equal to 5 Test matches or less than 20 ODIs, have played in less than or equal to 25 IPL matches (at the start of the season), and has not previously this Award.

That young player will be awarded with a trophy and a prize money of Rs 10 lakh. It will be a collective result of a public vote on the IPL websiet and the choice of the television commentators.


Shubham Gill was awarded as the MVP. He had a strike rate of 124.30 including 3 50s. The 19-year-old took home Rs 10,00,000.

Previous winners of the award –
2008 – Shreevats Goswami (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
2009 – Rohit Sharma (Deccan Chargers)
2010 – Saurabh Tiwary (Mumbai Indians)
2011 – Iqbal Abdullah (Kolkata Knight Riders)
2012 – Mandeep Singh (Kings XI Punjab)
2013 – Sanju Samson (Rajasthan Royals)
2014 – Axar Patel (Kings XI Punjab)
2015 – Shreyas Iyer (Delhi Daredevils)
2016 – Mustafizur Rehman (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
2017 – Basil Thampi (Gujarat Lions)
2018 – Rishabh Pant (Delhi Daredevils)

The best batsman of the tournament is given to one who made the most runs. He will be awarded the Orange Cap and Rs 10 lakh prize money. David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad) got it as he scored a total of 692 runs in 12 matches.


Previous winners of the award –
2008 – Shaun Marsh (Kings XI Punjab)
2009 – Matthew Hayden (Chennai Super Kings)
2010 – Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians)
2011 – Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
2012 – Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
2013 – Michael Hussey (Chennai Super Kings)
2014 – Robin Uthappa (Kolkata Knight Riders)
2015 – David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
2016 – Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
2017 – David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
2018 – Kane Williamson (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

The best bowler of the tournament is given the Purple Cap. It is decided by calculating the total number of wickets taken. He also receives Rs 10 lakh cash prize. Imran Tahir of Chennai Super Kings gets this award as he took 26 wickets in total this time.

Previous winners of the award –
2008 – Sohail Tanvir (Rajasthan Royals)
2009 – R P Singh (Deccan Chargers)
2010 – Pragyan Ojha (Deccan Chargers)
2011 – Lasith Malinga (Mumbai Indians)
2012 – Morne Morkel (Delhi Daredevils)
2013 – Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings)
2014 – Mohit Sharma (Chennai Super Kings)
2015 – Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings)
2016 – Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
2017 – Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
2018 – Andrew Tye (Kings XI Punjab)


The Most Valuable Player (MVP) award is given to one who has hit the most points (counted with fours, sixes, wickets, bowling dot balls, taking catches, and completing stumpings). He receives a trophy and Rs 10 lakh prize money. Andre Russell bagged it this time.

Previous winners of the award –
2008 – Shane Watson (Rajasthan Royals)
2009 – Adam Gilchrist (Deccan Chargers)
2010 – Jacques Kallis (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
2011 – Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
2012 – Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
2013 – Shane Watson (Rajasthan Royals)
2014 – Glenn Maxwell (Kings XI Punjab)
2015 – Andre Russell (Kolkata Knight Riders)
2016 – Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
2017 – Ben Stokes (Rising Pune Supergiant)
2018 – Sunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Besides above awards, there are a few sponsored awards too. The VIVO Perfect Catch of the Season winner will get Rs 10 lakh, a trophy, and a VIVO phone. Kieron Pollard won Rs 1,00,000 for it.


The batsman with the highest batting strike rate of the season (having played a minimum of 7 matches in the season and faced a minimum of 100 balls) will be awarded the Harrier Super Striker of the Season trophy and a Harrier SUV car. Andre Russell won it too.

The player who seen as showcasing the most flair on the field will get the fbb Stylish Player of the Season award along with a Rs 10 lakh prize money. While the player who changed the outcomes of the matches with their performances will get the Dream11 GameChanger of the Season ward along with Rs 10 lakh prize money. KL Rahul won it.

Man-of-the-match of the final – Jasprit Bumrah as he took 2 wickets for 14 runs.


Fairplay award went to Sunrisers Hyderabad for the season. VVS Laxman collected it.

Pitch and ground award was awarded to Punjab Cricket Association (PCA) and Hyderabad Cricket Association (HCA).




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here